PDA

View Full Version : New Project

Terra-Scapes
07-11-2006, 04:42 PM
I'm completely new to hardscaping and landscaping in general. I started back in May with two mowing accounts and by word of mouth I have three landscaping jobs most recently a request to do a hardscape job. The hardscape client wants to have a retaining wall built around a cul-de-sac that currently has rotting railroad ties surrounding it.

I'm not sure how high the down slope side of the cul-de-sac needs to be to keep runoff and erosion under control. I'm also struggling with how to blend the corners in with the high side of the cul-de-sac. Does the down slope side of the cul-de-sac need to be equal to the highest point in the middle or can it be less? If so, by how much? Does the cap stone need to be the same level all the way around? Can I decrease the height by "stepping" the wall around the corners to meet the lower side wall height?

Check out the pictures.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Josh

Terra-Scapes
07-12-2006, 07:56 AM
More info:

I plan on using Pavestone Anchor Diamond http://www.pavestone.com/contractor/wall_anchor_diamond.html for the wall surround the cul-de-sac. I plan on building the highest side of the cul-de-sac with a half barried base block and then one Anchor Diamond block followed by a cap stone. Then around the corners I will step down the stone to meet the level of 4 blocks (one barried block) and a cap stone for the lower side of the cul-de-sac.

I'm still not sure if that is high enough on the lower side...

BSDeality
07-12-2006, 08:31 AM