PDA

View Full Version : Black (Afro-american) landscapers..Serious question

Liquidfast
07-12-2006, 06:26 PM
I am an above mentioned landscaper and I have a serious question.

Do you find it difficult to get/receive service at dealerships?
- I have been to three different dealers in the past 4 weeks and NOT ONCE did someone assist me or say they would be with me in a minute. Normally, I enjoy being followed around when I shop cuz assistance is just a holla away but I guess with the weight of the equipment, they aren't too concerned.

I am NOT trying to play the race card by any stretch of the imagination but when I am in line, or atleast appearing to need help and a woman gets served FIRST, I have to wonder.

Really, I am just curious.

Jay's Lawncare
07-12-2006, 06:33 PM
I don't find it difficult at all when it comes to service, generally though, it helps when you purchase the equipment from the dealer you are requesting service from...just my .02 cents...Jay

mulcahy mowing
07-12-2006, 06:34 PM
Do you already have a dealer you already work with? it was the same way last season here comes some kid no one would help me... then i dropped a few bucks here and there and now every time i walk in my sales person comes right over. it may not be the race card at all although my dealer is all about not being discriminatory in fact they do have more than one African American sales person and one female.
in the world we live in why should skin color matter?

hope this helps :)

Lynden-Jeff
07-12-2006, 06:42 PM
Where abouts in ontario are you? My dealer has no problems at all I don't think helping anyone! He is a pretty nice guy and willing to help just about anyone.

Cheers
Jeff

Liquidfast
07-12-2006, 06:46 PM
I am in Richmond Hill. At first, it wasn't a problem, I thought nothing of it but after today, I thought it was seriously annoying. I couldn't come up with any other explanation for it and was curious how others might be treated.