PDA

View Full Version : 36" Scag Advantage, 15hp Kawi

RedWolf197
07-13-2006, 11:44 AM
I recently bought a used Scag and have been using it very little, maybe twice a week. It's ran 99% the whole time. What i mean is I've have not had any problems with it, it always seemed to idle just a tad off when it was first started then worked fine when it warmed. But once it warmed it was great. Then yesterday I used it and it just kept on quitting out on me. Finally I just gave up trying to use it. This is not an old machine, and has very little hours on it.. maybe 300 tops! I've dismissed the suspicions of a faulty saftey, thou I'm not a mechanic, and these new machines are just insane with safties now. And those new push button blade engagers are something I hate! I can just hear the engine cry when i hit that button because you can't do it slow now! But anyway.. running off the topic.. I'm leaning towards fuel problem.. And I need one question answered that is driving me crazy.. The fuel filter, should this be completely full when the machine is running? I look at it when i can get the machine running and it's maybe a 1/4 full of fuel. When the engine starts to bog and I know it's about to stall I can hit the choke and it will stay running longer but eventually smokes and dies. I took the whole fuel system apart and checked it all.. And see nothing wrong. Lines are all clear, bowl clean, air filter clean.

Restrorob
07-13-2006, 06:55 PM
Check your gas cap vent, If not venting properly it could cause this very problem. Also a plugged bowl vent in the carb. could cause this. A quick check for the cap is to start it up and when it wants to start stalling loosen the cap right quick and see if it picks back up.

Jim@MilkyWay
07-13-2006, 10:18 PM
.... And I need one question answered that is driving me crazy.. The fuel filter, should this be completely full when the machine is running?....