PDA

View Full Version : Rocky soil and grass

pra4snw
07-13-2006, 03:19 PM
The builder of our new house seeded on really rocky fill - he did not lay down any topsoil first. He did not lay seed until May and I re-seeded in June after all the rainfall we got. I have some grass growing, but coverage in not impressive at all. I am going to overseed around Labor Day.

My question concerns the soil. I have raked out thousands of stones of all sizes, yet after every rainfall there are thousands more to take their place.

Should I be concerned about all of the rocks and the future growth and health of the lawn? Did the builder pull a "fast one" on me by not laying any good soil, or is this something that is usually done?

Thanks.

lzrj
07-13-2006, 11:30 PM
I'm not a lawn expert only giving personal opinion. How long did the builder what before putting down seed after the ground was smoothed out? We just got done building our house on 3 plus acres so there was a large area around the house that needed to be finished from construction. Our soil in this area is very rocky. They back filled with what they could of the original topsoil that they took off during ground breaking. Then he hauled in three more loads of soil (with no rocks). After the landscaper finished smoothing everything with his tractor, he finished the yard by hand raking every area and removing every rock in it. He then seeded and strawed. He did all at the same time (took him almost a week and a half to finish). After a two weeks of watering, the grass is really starting to grow nicely. We just had a major down pour which exposed a lot of small rocks in the yard but I'm sure thats common and wont be a problem. If you have a lot of large rocks then you might have problems with an even looking yard. You might have to lay more topsoil before reseeding. And by the way, that was the cheapest method to getting our yard finished just more work on our part to get it to grow better. Hydroseeding and sod were a lot mo