PDA

View Full Version : Opinion: Thoughts on Kohler Command Engines

MagnumPro
07-19-2006, 05:05 PM
I am interested in purchasing a new Exmark unit. I am leaning towards the unit with a Kohler Command Engine, but not sold on it yet. What are your thoughts on the Command Engine??:confused:

Splicer
07-19-2006, 05:12 PM
I have the 20HP Command Pro CV-20 in my '99 GT and it is just kicken...by far the finest small engine I have owned to date...I bumped the throttle up to 3750 RPM and it just takes it in stride...

dvmcmrhp52
07-19-2006, 06:09 PM
We have no Kohlers that blew up but we do have a blown Kawi..........

What do you think my thoughts are on Kohlers?:)

dutch1
07-19-2006, 06:14 PM
I worked in a shop envoirnment for 7 years and am doing the same in my home shop now. In my experience, Kohler hasn't made a quality engine since they ceased making the Magnum series.

It's strictly my opinion and that's probably not worth much on this site, but Kawasaki and Honda most of the more prominant manufacturers beat by a bunch for longevity and quality. On the other hand I've seen all brands of engines fail for lack of proper care and maintenance.

Given proper care, I believe most engines will give adequate service, some just last longer due to quality of manufacture.

Your mileage may vary.

Dutch

dvmcmrhp52
07-19-2006, 06:26 PM
In my experience, Kohler hasn't made a quality engine since they ceased making the Magnum series.

Dutch

I guess you need more experience.............

dvmcmrhp52
07-19-2006, 06:28 PM
It's strictly my opinion and that's probably not worth much on this site, but Kawasaki and Honda most of the more prominant manufacturers beat by a bunch for longevity and quality.

Dutch

Read my post concerning Kawasaki and then read a post by 6'7330 (bill) about his luck with Kawi...........

lawnmaniac883
07-19-2006, 07:22 PM
Kohler commands are good engines.

Restrorob
07-19-2006, 07:46 PM
http://www.gtr-game.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/hmm.gif