PDA

View Full Version : walkway questions

ccas
07-23-2006, 06:01 PM
OKay, so again I am a beginner, a teacher at home for the summer in a newly built home. I'm the king of doing it myself projects and kind of learning as I go. I just put in a large patio area with hardpack gravel that turned out pretty nice. I dug out and built some steps leading down to my walk out from my basement. I've even got a pretty good start on the grass throughout most of my yard. Although I did fert burn about 3 sections measuring around 10-20 sq feet a piece (oops) Now my next project is a walkway from my driveway to the front porch. I just measured it off to be approx 60 ft. I want a nice looking path and want to find out a cheap way to do it. The ideal situation would be to have enough money to buy cobblestone pavers and have a pro do it, but that's too much money for me. I could use some slaterock and build it with them. Not sure how much that would cost either. I thought about just pouring concrete and making it that way. I even thought about using blacktop. Gravel is out of the question. Have any of you ever seen the molds that are sold with the quickrete? I am wondering if those will work and when using something like that do you need to dig out a path or can you just start filling the molds right on top of an existing lawn? Thanks for the help. BTW-- I am in New Hampshire and have heard its pretty easy to get slate around here. Not sure how true it is, but would like some help from you pros!

ccas
07-23-2006, 06:09 PM
If I were to just lay the pavers down without establishing some kind of walkway first the ones on the edges would move apart huh?

D Felix
07-23-2006, 07:36 PM
Wow, where to begin???

The sackcrete forms look like crap, IMHO. You don't really want those.