PDA

View Full Version : Hello Land Clearers (brush cutters, mulchers)

rutwad
08-01-2006, 02:43 PM
Guys I would really like any advice you can offer me. I have considered purchasing an ASV RC-100 and Magnum mulcher attachment. I have my concerns about this. I understand the hourly rates pay good, but is there a high demand for the service these machines can provide.

Do you find yourselves staying busy doing this type of work?
Owner/operator or someone operate for you?
Positive/negative things you have discovered?
Anything you can offer me I would really appreciate it. Newbie here and I am concerned about taking the risk. I am in Alabama.
Trying to think it through, I thought I may buy some other attachments incase the mulching business got slow. I could even resort to equipment hauling from local auction sites on bad weather days.

Anything?

Thanks in advance

janb
08-01-2006, 08:03 PM
check these threads out (also do some searching)
http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=153279&highlight=business

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=149099

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=132144

local guys are charging $130 to $150/hr, but I can't stay busy at 1/2 that rate. Tho I don't have one of those $100,000+ shredding machines. They can do a very nice job, but too much capital $$ for me (+ 285 days of rain, = limited season) this type of clearing can be 'discretionary' spending for the normal landowner, (they don't part with $500 for 4 hrs real easy) but the realtors / speculators will keep you pretty busy (in a high growth area)

I have turned down a lot of small (2 hr) tractor / brush-dumptruck jobs lately

ksss
08-01-2006, 11:46 PM