PDA

View Full Version : Outdoor fireplace questions

manfromearth
08-11-2006, 07:50 PM
Hi all,
I have built fire pits, bbq pits, but no fireplaces. I'd like to build an outdoor fireplace for a client. I have extensive experience building mortared walls, flagstone patios, and the pits I mentioned. If you guys have any experience building outdoor fireplaces, I'd sure appreciate any advice you might have for me. I have included 3 attachments. They are the plans I drew up for this project (they are not very complex, at all). Please let me know what you think,,,comments, suggestion, criticisms are welcome! Thanks much.
Rob
ps...the plans do not reflect that I will be corbling the fire brick so that the top of the fire box will wrap nicely around the flue opening. I'll do this instead of using the 1/4" metal that I've shown on the side view plan. Also, I plan to use cinder block as the support structure for the fireplace to about the 8'8" mark and then corbling the mortared stone to acheive the narrowing of the chimney.

scarymary
08-11-2006, 10:04 PM
Hi there, I'm no expert on this subject, but I have been studying this as I would like to have an outdoor fireplace off my patio one day, and it seems to me that I read on a website somewhere, that since it is an outdoor fireplace, that a flue wasn't necessary. I wish I could remember what website it was so I could direct you to it, but I can't. I think your design is wonderful. And since you have that experience in masonry, I think you should go for it.

manfromearth
08-13-2006, 02:54 AM