PDA

View Full Version : Garden tractors / attachments

gdeangel
08-16-2006, 04:07 PM
I am on the market for a garden tractor. I have some short term needs for special attachments like a tiller and/or box grader and maybe and auger/post hole digger. Long term, this is going be for cutting grass. It seems that there are a number of sub-compact garden tractors with PTO attachments that might fit my needs (Deere x500, Cub Cadet 2500).

I am no expert on tractors, so my question is are these sub-compact tractors using a 3 point hitch (class 0?), or some other proprietary design so it's harder to find OEM attachments? Are there any good recomendations as to new/used models I should look at that would meed my needs. Ideally, I want to pick up the tractor and tiller this season - what do you think is a reasonable budget to spend, with the expectation of picking up some of the other attachments next year for fence building, etc.?

jeffinsgf
08-16-2006, 10:50 PM
When you said tiller, you were okay, but when you added post hole digger and box blade, the big garden tractors are going to leave you disappointed, I think. Look at the John Deere 2305. It is one step bigger, can handle a broader range of more widely available attachments and won't let you down when the heavy work comes around. If that is a budget buster, consider a slightly older JD. I have a 455, which I would stack up against the X500 any day of the week. Going back even farther to say a 430 or a 318, you have over 20 years worth of used attachments out there that will fit. Anything from about 1970 to 1992 will fit any tractor from the same era.

Check out http://www.weekendfreedommachines.org for an interesting history of the JD garden tractor and a forum of dedicated collectors and users.

PHS79
08-16-2006, 11:09 PM