PDA

View Full Version : A finer fescue?

tthomass
09-04-2006, 03:42 PM
I have a customer requesting a finer bladed fescue vs broad. I'm in northern VA for climate concerns so needs to be tolerate of heat of course. He's got irrigation too. Thought I'd get some recommendations while I'm searching.

Thanks!

par69
09-04-2006, 08:04 PM
I am a Landscape Contractor. Time him that fine fescue will have thatch problems which can make for bug problems down the road. If at all possible preannual rye grass is better. Not annual rye grass. 100% preannual. I have some that looks green all summer long with no water.

I am not from your side of the country. But If you can go with preannual rye. I would. Lots easier to maintain.

gardenkeeper88
09-04-2006, 10:22 PM
Up here we mix Fine fescues in for shade. Types like creeping fescue are prob what he is refering to. They are finer than bluegrass.

par69
09-04-2006, 10:35 PM
I understand that fine fescue works good in shade. But rye will too with some extra tlc. The fine fescue will also move into the full sun areas. I would rather have a little sparse grass in the shade. Than have fescue in the lawn at all.

gardenkeeper88
09-05-2006, 09:00 AM
That's interesting. Around here we have no prob w/ The creeping type of fescue in sun. Yes it does move in the sun areas but 90% of the grass seed mixes contain bluegr., Turf Rye, & Creeping fescues. Sun or shade. I have been selling, installing, or maintaining lawns / seed since the late 70's and every distributer uses it. Goes to show what works for 1 area may not be best for yours. I would definately look for a good supplier of seed and maybe even talk to a couple reputable garden centers and see what is working for your area.

JTF40
09-05-2006, 09:31 AM