PDA

View Full Version : Scary ramps

laxative
09-04-2006, 10:51 PM
I have a 12' stake bed and need a cheap temporary way to load a couple WB's, generators, etc. in it in a pinch, without a trailer. Ramps would need to be at least 12' long for a reasonable angle up. Don't want to spend more than a couple hundred bucks. Don't want to slip and break my legs or equipment. Would like to maneuver ramp(s) around alone without breaking my back. Any ideas? All my ideas suck.

grassmanak
09-04-2006, 11:17 PM
id build something out of wood then, if you have the space for it.,

Mike33
09-04-2006, 11:24 PM
When i first started my company i started with a new bobcat 753 and a 79 gmc 1 ton wooden deck. keep in mind i started basicly with nothing and with out a clue. I rebuilt the truck because i was auto body by trade and figured i could just haul this bobcat on the deck of truck. I got a pair of ramps from local rental where i purchased bobcat from and they might of even been endorsed by them. I hauled this machine around about 5 times and realized what a idiot i was for doing this , all of this weight sitting behind me. Not to say if dot would have caught me what would of happened. It was pretty damn scarry backing this bobcat up these ramps on to the truck bed. I sold them back and went in to debt for a trailer. Dont do a stupid trick like i did.
Mike

Birdhunter1
09-04-2006, 11:57 PM
Would aluminum 4-wheeler ramps work?
I don't know what the max weght they are rated for but I know they are rated for more than what my Honda Rancher 350 4wd weighs. If you do get them try to find a pair with an arch in them as they seem less scary when loading and unloading on them.

laxative
09-05-2006, 01:17 AM
Do 4-wheeler ramps come 10-12' long? Started to make some wooden ones but the bow in 'em when I stood in the middle freaked me out and they were getting heavy quick.

laxative
09-05-2006, 01:21 AM