PDA

View Full Version : A Question out of Ignorance

cddva
09-13-2006, 09:05 PM
I had a person call today to ask if I could dig a footer for an addition on their house plus do some grading of the yard. I have very little "building" experience and have no experience digging footers but.....would certainly like to learn and expand my part-time services to include digging footers for something of this scale. So, my honest Abe response was to say that I have not dug footers for a house before but I would be willing to come out and look at the job. He left it that he was still a few weeks from needing the footers dug due to more demolition work needed and he would keep me in mind (I figure I probably lost him as a potential customer). However, I'm hoping some of the knowledge base here may give me the insight to either stage a comeback or just forget about digging footers. Now for the ignorant question, how do you dig a footer for a house? Meaning, what survey points or lines do you follow to locate the footer correctly and dig to the proper depth, how wide should the excavation be, etc.? I know codes dictate some of these answers but the blue prints should have this info and I would assume the site is marked with this info for the operator, right? I would be willing to rent a mini-ex for the job but obviously need to know what I'm doing as far as the actual digging. Would appreciate your good coaching skills on this one! Please keep the laughter to a low roar.....you have to start somewhere right?:laugh: BTW, I'm too old to start in the trench's with a shovel (did some of that during high school years - I was the boss mans' mini-ex). Thanks.

Bill Eh
09-13-2006, 09:51 PM
Yes the plans would spec it out. Batterboards can be installed by the contractor to provide guidance. If you are expected to do that you'd better be good at geometry. Prepping a footer base may require hand labor to ensure the base is down to solid under lay. I love doing that stuff.

Gravel Rat