PDA

View Full Version : Hour Meter that can be reset?


Dirty Water
09-13-2006, 09:52 PM
I would like to install hour meters that can be cleared on our equipment.

The idea is to reset it at the start of each job, so we have an accurate way of billing machine hours. Currently I often forget to log the hours before starting a job and I end up guessing.

Does such an animal exist?

NateV
09-13-2006, 10:13 PM
How about a stop watch. haha....i don't know:confused:



or how about something like this.
http://enmco.thomasnet.com/viewitems/enm-counting-instruments-hour-meters/t34-resettable-ac-dc-hour-meter-ii-?&forward=1

Dirty Water
09-13-2006, 10:23 PM
Yeah, I'm not paying $110 for a hour meter.

janb
09-15-2006, 02:49 PM
Yeah, I'm not paying $110 for a hour meter.
I hang a 'dry-erase' marker by the hour meter, and record, and erase as needed

You can get really cheap hour meters from Surplus Center (lincoln, ne), http://www.surpluscenter.com/
but don't think they offer a 'trip-meter', as that is what I wish I had on rental equip!

You could make up a few 'Quick connect' ones and have an 'adjustment' station at your shop, where you could plug in and run to an even #. (that sounds painfully slow)

or

you could run this $25 - 115VAC version on a $15 inverter (probably not too weather proof)
http://www.surpluscenter.com/item.asp?UID=2006091512245576&item=21-1579&catname=

nobagger
09-15-2006, 03:40 PM
DONT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!buy a Briggs and Straton one. They are $25.00 and they last about 25hrs and you can reset them but out of the 4 I've tried I can't get them to re-set.