PDA

View Full Version : lost first contract

mark lagasse
09-14-2006, 09:45 PM
As I am new in the business this is my first loss. I lost the bid this year for the subdivision I do. I bid 325.00 per month for the grass cutting, edging, weeding, weed eating, trimming, and trash pick up. 1.5 hrs per visit and a little more when the shrubs need trimming. 40 visits per year. winning bid basically all services the same but 52 visits per year 300.00 month. I figured 90hrs per year for them that equals $40 per hr. Mine figures at 60 hrs per year,that equals 65 per hr. I guess I am just letting off some dissapointment but I didn't want to lose the contract but I dont want to give my time away cheap. I will look for a better paying replacement. Bids were 285,300,325,485.
Mark

traman
09-14-2006, 10:05 PM
you didnt lose anything, you gained the knowledge not to under bid and stick to your price. star for you :clapping:

Scotts' Yard Care
09-14-2006, 10:13 PM
Mark , don't feel too bad over this. My wife was surfing the net and came upon a winning bid put in by Senske for one of our local rest areas; complete full service of this rest stop and the winning bid was $1898.00 total for a full nine months. Mulch, fert and squirt, mowing, tree trimming, shrub work, trash pick-up etc.etc.etc. I still don't see how they can make a buck doing that for that price.

WJW Lawn
09-15-2006, 07:04 AM
Yea dont feel bad...and remember the golden rule!! If you win every bid...then you're not charging enough! So don't sweat it.

Tharrell
09-15-2006, 07:15 AM
I'm just curious, was the 285 bid not qualified? Also, if you only lost it by $25 a month you were really close.

mark lagasse
09-15-2006, 08:39 AM
only lost by 25 but he is 52 visits mine was 40 so his per visit is quite a bit lower and so is hourly. What do you mean by not qualified?

Thirdpete
09-15-2006, 09:19 AM