PDA

View Full Version : clearing this yard (picture)

bobbyg18
09-21-2006, 06:15 PM
im new to the business and have just started my own skid steer service this summer...i haven't done a job like this before but this job is a half mile away from my house and i'd like to get this job...I own a skid steer with bucket and small backhoe and grapple arm...i can rent any attachment i may need its just im not sure which is the best for this job...

so a few questions for you guys

1)what would you use to clear this yard of the bushes and weeds...(im guessing a brush cutter or brush hog?)

2)how would you go about clearing this area?

any input is appreciated...i will be meeting the homeowner tomorrow...

thanks...bg
http://im1.shutterfly.com/procserv/47b6d700b3127cce8d283aee0fe600000016108AbNmTdm0YtT

http://im1.shutterfly.com/procserv/47b6d700b3127cce8d283922ce8300000016108AbNmTdm0YtT

MikeAtv
09-21-2006, 08:26 PM
Are they wanting to kept the trees?If not, I would rent a Brushcutter.

ksss
09-21-2006, 10:56 PM
Are they clearing it for lawn preparation or just wanting to maintain what exists. If it is the later I would second the brush cutter. If your turinng it to lawn I would mow it, collect the grass (it will prevent adding any more vegatation to the soil than you already will have) and rototill it. If you would like you could grub the lot after mowing it. The finish will be nicer when your done due to the grass being out of the picture. However that will result in trucking unless they have a place to put it.

minimax
09-21-2006, 11:42 PM
Brush mow,brush rake it, and grade it out!

janb
09-21-2006, 11:45 PM
yeah, need a little more info, (skid steer capability / HP flow + desired outcome) but since tomorrow's soon...

1) if you have big bucks and high flow, find a chopper (Magnum / timber axe) They leave 2-4" of stubble and the rest in shredded refuse