PDA

View Full Version : New Business....Tax Righ-Offs??

rutwad
09-30-2006, 08:26 AM
Being a new business owner, I am constantly running across situations, expenses, and questions that I never thought of. Is it right that if someone pays me $600 or more that I have to get a 1099, and the same true if I pay someone that same amount? This will lead to a question later depending on it's answer.

Also, what about security? I am a home based sole prop., so many expenses are dually personal and business. Such as the one room in the house that is my office. Doesn't this allow me to take a percentage of utilities as a right-off for my office? Would the same be true about security protection, a partieal right-off since I keep my equipment outside at home. Can I count of some of the expenses of my outdoor security system? Equipment is EXPENSIVE and I need to build a garage for it soon, but until then....

Thanks

Az Gardener
09-30-2006, 05:23 PM
You need a good tax guy and I emphasize good because like any trade there are those who just barely passed the test and have not learned a thing since. Then there are those that live to get over on the government by finding every deduction and loophole. They read the new tax code cover to cover every year, network with other tax professionals and are on top of their game.

As far as the 1099 if you subcontract someone to do work for you and pay them you have to get them to fill out a 1099 for you. If you don't it will just show up as pure profit on your bottom line so you want the expense to go against the income. You will also need their insurance info and license number as well but some of that may vary from state to state. If you are subcontracted by another company they will most likely have you fill out a 1099.

DBL
09-30-2006, 05:49 PM
in addition to a good tax guy or accountant KEEP EVERY SINGLE RECIEPT FOR ANYTHING..a pack of gum counts

rutwad
09-30-2006, 08:34 PM