PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone taken the ICPI course?

ACutAbovesiny
10-12-2006, 12:00 PM
Who have taken the course and what do you think of it? Do they send you an actual certificate when you pass?

paponte
10-12-2006, 05:25 PM
Yes, I am certified through them. Honestly majority of the material I had already known from experience. I did pick up a couple of technical pointers, and you keep the book as well. I can say, the open bar and the dinner was the best part of the experience. I was able to network with other contractors and share that way. After the test I believe it takes about a month to get the certificate. :)

ACutAbovesiny
10-12-2006, 05:46 PM
Would you say its worth the $250? I have some but not alot of experience with pavers.

paponte
10-12-2006, 06:18 PM
Would you say its worth the $250? I have some but not alot of experience with pavers.

No, the question is... would YOU say it's worth the $250? For me I already did paver installs and this was just another selling point as well as another certification under my belt. You shouldn't look at certifications as a cost, but rather a benefit in establishing credibility. :)

tthomass
10-12-2006, 07:45 PM
what he said ^............what i didn't like was no discussion about walls and steps............basically "here is your flat surface and techniques" preaching

ACutAbovesiny
10-12-2006, 10:04 PM
No, the question is... would YOU say it's worth the $250? For me I already did paver installs and this was just another selling point as well as another certification under my belt. You shouldn't look at certifications as a cost, but rather a benefit in establishing credibility. :)

when i asked if it was worth it i meant did it give you any knowledge?
also was it worth taking 2 days from work?

i feel that the cost is relatively low.

YardPro
10-15-2006, 10:36 AM
i also have mine and think is is absolutely worth it.
one of the benefits for us is the added credibility..