PDA

View Full Version : I am just getting started here

Shawnhines
10-14-2006, 11:58 PM
Well I am about to start my company and I need to look at getting all the legal stuff done first.
What do I need to keep track of for taxes?
Where do I go to get my bussiness license?
Hell I dont know what else I need, you guys are the pros...

What else is there???

Thanks anything helps

Shawn

topsites
10-15-2006, 02:35 AM
Well I am about to start my company and I need to look at getting all the legal stuff done first.
What do I need to keep track of for taxes?
Where do I go to get my bussiness license?
Hell I dont know what else I need, you guys are the pros...

What else is there???

Thanks anything helps

Shawn

To help you keep track of taxes, first you need to track income and expenses.
I would recommend checking into opening a small (read: teenie tiny) business checking account, if you shop around some you should be able to find free business checking (find the best / most affordable solution here) - This alone helps track the income / expenses considerably, I use my business account to track all of my income due to the fact that if it's deposited, it is income.

For expenses, I went to Capital One and applied (but wait, read through) for a Business Credit Card. I put EVERYTHING I buy for the business on this card, if the card does not or can not buy it then I reconsider the purchase. Now you have to be careful, the APR is 21.99% so this card has to be paid off every single month or you will get skru'd, but there's no annual fee and at the end of the year, they send you a detailed, itemized and categorized list of all your purchases, with subtotals and subtitles such as fuel / supplies / agricultural (I am making it up some, it's been months but it really details it all out nicely) so then there's all my expenses tracked.
It is so good, I suspect CapOne makes the end-of-year statement with taxes in mind, that is how smoothly it integrates.