PDA

View Full Version : Tired of the headaches...finally getting an accountant.

cookedonphonics
10-20-2006, 05:02 PM
My question is....

Are the services provided by an accountant a write-off? :rolleyes:

newz7151
10-20-2006, 05:45 PM
My question is....

Didn't you just get a new accountant?

Total.Lawn.Care
10-20-2006, 05:57 PM
My question is....

Yes they are. Any item or service that you pay for as part of operating or managing a business is a business expense. (AKA: Tax writeoff)

I am an accountant and do my own books. I write off everything I can...within questionalbe reason. I gotta be a little honest...

John Gamba
10-20-2006, 06:08 PM
My question is....

Its a smart move. I even had a secretary part time at first.

Waterscapes By Design
10-20-2006, 10:51 PM
Sent my fiance back to school for accounting (for me), finance (for her)

topsites
10-22-2006, 03:21 AM
Services provided by an accountant are an expense, I just paid a modest sum to a tax expert for the same reason...

Although I was saving close to $1,000 / year by doing my own taxes (and paying myself a wage vs. the profit method) here is also what I found:

Every single quarter I spent HOURS filling out 941's and 760's and FUTA and SocSec and I forget what else but basically at the end of the year plan on doing W2's and all sorts of other crap. Then, write a check for each form and make sure the amount and payee are correct (there were at least 3), get 3 envelopes and write the address on there remembering that each one goes to a different place, then put a stamp on each and then make sure to place the proper form and its corresponding check in the appropriate envelope (omg do NOT mess this up), then you're ready to mail them off...