PDA

View Full Version : Official Firepit Thread...

MowingisMaddness
10-20-2006, 09:30 PM
Hello friends,

I did an internet search and a search of lawnsite and found very little about constructing a firepit. Well, its time to let the cat out of the bag. So everyone with experience(not me)... How do you build a long lasting, professional looking firepit? Maybe like one in the picture attached...

Thanks, aj

Ron's Lawncare
10-21-2006, 12:53 PM
i'm curious too. i don't think wall blocks would last in a fire pit.

Dirty Water
10-21-2006, 12:56 PM
Wallblocks do just fine in a fire pit.

The important part is to install a drainage system to keep water out of the firepit.

My method is to install a drainline in the bottom (sheetmetal gutter pipe works well) of the pit and then cover it with gravel to keep it from getting clogged or burnt.

GreenMonster
10-21-2006, 10:58 PM
I only have one firepit on my resume, so I'm by no means an expert.

Not to discredit Jon, but I didn't use any drainage, and customer reports no pooling, and I don't think wallstone will hold up, so I lined our's with firebrick.

Ron's Lawncare
10-22-2006, 12:58 AM

Not to discredit Jon, but I didn't use any drainage, and customer reports no pooling, and I don't think wallstone will hold up, so I lined our's with firebrick.

That's what i was thinking, we have one cobbled together at our camp made from 8'' cinder block and they don't last more than a couple years.

Dirty Water
10-22-2006, 08:13 PM

I'm no expert either, but I've built a few.

The drainage was put in just because we get some rain here.

I haven't seen wallblock crack from the heat, its not like its a smelting forge :)

That said, I used solid wallblock, not the hollow core stuff.

paponte
10-22-2006, 08:59 PM
I actually have seen block crack from the heat. I'm no expert either, but always thought a fire brick lining wouldn't hurt. I also know they make a special mortar for heat applications as well. :)

waltero
10-22-2006, 11:32 PM