PDA

View Full Version : Backflow preventor suggestions

silvercvic
10-25-2006, 02:56 PM
I am totally new to all this and I am trying to learn as much of this as possible before I spent $$ on trial and error.

I have read irrigationtutorials.com over and over and picked up a book on sprinkler systems.

I have completed dimensions and approximation of where I want to water and after checking with local code, my next step is to select a backflow preventor. I have noticed most installs on this forum uses a vacuum breaker (PVB), but since my highest sprinkler head sits in a retaining wall (sits pretty high off the ground), I have chosen to use either a Reduced Pressure Backflow Preventer or a double check backflow preventor since elevation of the BP would not be an issue.

Now which would be preferred and cost-effective (R.P. unit -or- Double check)? My county requires that it be ASSI code 1013 or 1020.
I have researched these brands: Febco 860/860U and Wilkins 975XL
Does anyone have any other suggestions? Brands/model
I was also wondering why Febco is cheaper to Wilkins by over $60

Does anyone suggestion going with a Double-Check Backflow preventer, if so why?

Dirty Water
10-25-2006, 03:06 PM
Doublechecks can be installed in a valvebox below grade. They don't have relief valves to stick open and are cheaper.

If your county allows them, go for it.

Kuma
10-25-2006, 03:15 PM
The Double Check backflow preventer is not rated for irrigation applications according to the USC Cross-Connection Manual. A Reduced Pressure Zone backflow preventer or Pressure Vacuum Breaker are rated for irrigation applications.

Dirty Water
10-25-2006, 03:16 PM
The Double Check backflow preventer is not rated for irrigation applications according to the USC Cross-Connection Manual. A Reduced Pressure Zone backflow preventer or Pressure Vacuum Breaker are rated for irrigation applications.