PDA

View Full Version : Absurd price?

fyshstykr
10-27-2006, 01:33 PM
Take a look at this property.

This guy called and wanted a bid for a one time mow/fall clean up for his rental property. He was a new customer, I went the day he called to look at it and called him while I was still there - could have done it then.

This is my first year in business, I figured it was going to take the 2 of us about 4 hours, plus a haul and dump fee. I was going to provide complete mow, trimming, rose bushes trimmed, grass cleaned out of chain link fencing and picked up and hauled away. So based on $30 per man hour, I bid this at $225.

The guy told me that price was absurd, he would never pay that and hung up on me. (If he thought I was overpriced, he should have just stated that, hanging up was not necessary - unprofessional business exchange in my opinion.) So over a week later, it's still not cleaned up, I felt good about my bid, maybe even under bid it a bit. Seeing that it's still not done.....obviously he can't find anyone else to give him any bid that's not "absurd." :confused:

What's your opinion? Was $225 in line or was it low? Just trying to learn from my experience, I can't give my services away, but I want to stay in business, too.

Thanks in advance for your feedback,
fysh

JRSlawn
10-27-2006, 01:41 PM
I think your price was right on if not a little cheap. This guy is probably looking for a highscholl kid to come in and do the work for $25.00. Oh well you win some and you lose some. Good Luck

lawnguyland
10-27-2006, 02:28 PM
I think that house is worth $225

I also think that that I could do what you described by myself in 2 hrs, max, though it might be hard to tell from the pics. I don't think your price is absurd at all and that guy is a doofus, but I think I could do it a lot faster than that. Of course I've got 20+ years of experience on ya!

Here's a tip- run away from rentals, especially those that llok like that.

fiveoboy01
10-27-2006, 02:58 PM