PDA

View Full Version : Operating Cost?

ACutAbovesiny
11-09-2006, 01:20 AM
Are any of you guys aware of your operating cost this year? Its my first year and I'm running just over $12,000. How about the rest of you???

rodfather
11-09-2006, 06:22 AM
I know right up to the day. I only have to look at my P & L Statement in QuickBooks.

What's nice about QB's is that it will also compare those numbers to the same time last year. Not only do I know where I was, but I can use this as a guide to tell me where I am going and want to be. To me, that is invaluable information helping me to manage my company.

ACutAbovesiny
11-09-2006, 07:14 AM
I plan on using QuickBooks next year. I was thinking of picking it up during the winter and inputing everything for next season.

ACutAbovesiny
11-09-2006, 08:53 AM
Anyone else? How about some of you new guys? Have you looked into your operating costs?

ACutAbovesiny
11-09-2006, 04:51 PM
I dont know how any of you are making money if you dont know how much you are spending.

mrusk
11-09-2006, 05:43 PM
I took ICPI last week and the overhead section really opened my eyes. Before the course, i figured out my overhead, but i was leaving alot of stuff out.

After the course i sat down, looked at this years expenses and started to realize why i am not making any money. I then made a budget for 2007. I now have a good idea how much i need to charge an hour if i want to pay all my bills, pay my self X amount a year and for the business to make 20% profit.

I have a feeling, that my prices will be higher then most now. But i think that is because most landscapers are not business man, and never will be.

Matt

ACutAbovesiny
11-09-2006, 06:06 PM
I took ICPI last week and the overhead section really opened my eyes. Before the course, i figured out my overhead, but i was leaving alot of stuff out.