PDA

View Full Version : I need help in pricing a retaining wall

cs12bigfoot
11-11-2006, 08:11 PM
I am a licensed landscape contractor and have been in business for 3 years. I know a little about building walls but nothing about pricing. The guy is wanting a 105' long wall out of pavestone blocks. The wall will be 3' tall. Any suggestions on pricing would be great. Also what is the best way to set the bottom row-- gravel, sand, crushed slate, I don't know. Also is there a better alternative to pavestone.

EagleLandscape
11-11-2006, 08:27 PM
Excavate. Dump in 4-6" of crushed concrete and compact. Sink the first course completely underground.

Avoid Pavestone, its ugly. Use something like Belgard. Incredible easy, and looks the best

www.belgard.biz

neversatisfiedj
11-12-2006, 05:58 AM
That is a whole lot of base block to install. Think hard about how many man hours it will take.

cs12bigfoot
11-12-2006, 11:46 AM
That's my problem I don't know how many hours it will take.

Mike33
11-12-2006, 12:48 PM
This is a pretty big project for your first wall. I would pass on it if i was you. I use allen block for what it is worth, and it would take 72 block per course and 5 courses high and one time of geo-gridding, with about 50 ton of aggregate. I think you will need some help leveling up 72 block, isnt easy for the first time since you really dont know what you are doing. If your starting out new i wouldnt take on anything longer than 25'/ 2-3' high for first time
Mike

cs12bigfoot
02-03-2007, 02:11 PM
thanks for the input guys. But I went ahead and tackled the job. It was a piece of cake. Yeah it was hard work but once that first layer was down it went fast. thanks for the advice

markam70
02-03-2007, 02:18 PM
did you get any pics?

cs12bigfoot
02-03-2007, 02:47 PM
here are a few of them

GreenMonster
02-03-2007, 03:16 PM