PDA

View Full Version : Toro 21 hight adjusters

desert rose gardening
11-21-2006, 01:53 AM
Anybody have problems with the Toro Proline 21 hight adjusters? I have been using them for 15 years and its the only complain I have with them. There great mowers but the adjusters get loose in about 3 months then in 6 months I use bungee's to hold them in place, then in a year its new parts. I wish they would make it better. I do maintenance on them but that doesn't seem to help. Am I alone on this how about you?

z_clark
11-21-2006, 05:16 PM
you are defiantly NOT alone!!!! Replacing the front height adjusters (spring arm and front plates) is a every 6 week job for me. Here at year end I am also replacing the back ones, along with all 4 wheels. Nothing like sinking 125 bucks into a machine at year end :hammerhead: !!!

Do you have any secrets on how to do this easier? Or how to extend the life? I have found the OEM parts the best....although the most expensive.

With an air-wrench, jack stand, and the correct sockets it is fast enough. I just got 4 of ours ready for winter storage this weekend....Will be doing 4 more over thanks giving....Will leave the rest out to play with over the winter (work).

Here is one ready to roll for next year :dancing: !

brucec32
11-25-2006, 12:15 AM
wow, I thought this would be the reason to go with the "commercial" models vs Toro's high end residentials. Those have notches cut into the deck, which do strip out, but not nearly that fast. Mechanically my Toro 21 Super Recyclers ran about 12 and 10 years, and one is still running, though they are not used full bore, but just on lawns and areas too small for other mowers. Other than a clogged carb now and then from grass in the tank, no breakdowns. The rears strip out, but never the fronts.

I'm curious, other than a heavier deck (which I consider a negative), what DO the commercial units offer at $1100 vs maybe $700 for the consumer models?

desert rose gardening
11-25-2006, 01:07 AM