PDA

View Full Version : which ztr to choose

rickyd
06-22-2001, 11:35 AM
need help choosing best ztr. have 6 acres to mow. i have looked at gravely, grasshopper and scag ,all are close in price ,but i have no experience with any of the engine options ie-diesel vs gas (air or liquid cooled),kohler,kawasaki,kubota, etc. also not sure which are best in terms of ease to service and maintenance. also is there any difference in longevity between mid mount and out front mowers. thank-you for any advice.

Landry
06-23-2001, 02:02 AM
I recently purchased a Scag Turf Tiger after looking and trying all brands/dealers in my area. It comes down to what qualities are important to you. For me, a machine that is easy to work on was tie breaker in a ZTR since all of the professional machines are very close in performace. The Scag uses a horzontal engine shaft and by design the belts are easy to get to by dropping a panel on the back of the machine. To me this is the way I would have designed it, no crawling under the machine to change the belts. Scag uses a shaft to get power to the deck, it still has the same number of belts as the other machines but they are short and easy to get to. If you look at all of them, (John Deere, Dixie chopper, Exmark etc) one will have a "hook" that you cannot live without. All the other options are simple, get the biggest deck you can fit between your trees/bushes (52 inch in my case) and the most motor your wallet will allow. In this class of machine it will be hard to make a bad choice. Good luck hunting!

Eric ELM
06-23-2001, 06:57 PM
I run 2 Dixie Choppers, both 60". One is gas and one is diesel. The diesel uses 3 quarts of fuel an hour and the 22 HP Kohler uses about 1.25 gallons an hour. The diesel is expected to last 12,000 hours and a Kohler on a Chopper will last over 3,000 hours. I have a 22 HP Kohler on one Chopper with 3,465 hours on it, Bill (FineLinesLawn) has one with 3,500 hours on it, so it's common for this to happen.