PDA

View Full Version : starting out in 2007

nickslawn
11-30-2006, 08:43 AM
I'm starting out in 2007, I have been on lawnsite for about 2yrs. I have worked for the largest lawn service in my area. It will be tight money wise so buying a mower, I will have to buy a residental push mower for the first year. I the average size yard I will be going for will be 20,000-25,000 sq. ft. Can you all direct me a to good push mower, perferably self propelled, and give me and ideal on how much I can get done with a small mower on yards size list above or smaller. I will need to make $500 weekly to be able to make it on my own. I this possible. Thanks in advanced.
I have been pushing yards for 4 yrs with a 20" murray 8 accounts.

DBL
11-30-2006, 09:23 AM
anything possible with money you will need to average atleast 20 customers with about a $30 avereage on price to cover fuel and other expences such as maintence to make the 500 also you seem like you have expirience so run with what youve learned and make the best of it on the push mower i dont know sorry

HOOLIE
11-30-2006, 03:24 PM
You can certainly make $500 a week with some advertising. Should not be a huge problem to reach that mark.

As for a mower...well I started the same way really. The problem is a homeowner-grade 21" will not hold up all season. You would need a real commericial 21" model, and for what they sell for, honestly I would look around first for a used walk-behind. Especially if your average lawn is half an acre or so.

nickslawn
11-30-2006, 04:05 PM
I would like a nice commercial grade mower but money will be tight till about mid yr then I can upgrade. As for having any real big equipment I can have a trailer were I live. I live in downtown apartments above commerical business. I will get a small storage building to store the mower and equipment when not in use. But not big enough for a trailer. Thanks for you encouragment and replies.

BUCKEYE MOWING
11-30-2006, 04:12 PM