PDA

View Full Version : Need some help on an estimate.

NNJLandman
12-13-2006, 07:09 PM
Estimate for wall:

Need a little help from the hardscape gurus...trying to figure out this wall. The wall goes from 19" to 41" high and is 56 foot long. Now my problem is figuring out the amount of block I need, the wall is even all the way across but built into a hill so as you walk along the wall it goes from tall to short. Can someone give me a bit of help. Planning on using versa-lok standard block, the material calculator said I needed 393 block, I got that by coming up with an average among the height in the wall...not sure if thats right. Lemme know what yall might charge for a job like this thanks.

Thanks

Jeff

Mike33
12-13-2006, 08:29 PM
I am basicly self taught on every thing down to estimating. What i do on grade changes say 50' long and changing from 2-6:. I would measure length 10' at 2' , maybe next length of only 7' at 3 and balance of wall in these incriments. Its tough to figure but i have always been close and never lost money yet. And maybe figure a small % more. I cant help you with versa loc because i dont use the product. Im sure there will be more posts and maybe more helpful of what i explained.
Mike

evergreenlandscapes
12-14-2006, 10:42 PM
In a nutshell......Without going into Math and Geometry 101, you have 147 true face feet of wall to build. That does not take into consideration cuts ,curves , waste,etc.Versa Loks website claims the standard wall unit is
6" x 16".So...