PDA

View Full Version : Deck-overs

Total Landscape Solutions
12-15-2006, 10:49 PM
Anyone have experience hauling with a deck-over trailer.

I have never hauled with one. All my experiences have been with standard "bob-cat" or "equipment" trailers with wheel wells that stand above the deck. I have a lot of experience hauling in the 13 years doing landscape work with light-duty and medium-duty trucks. I have a CDL and have hauled up to 35,000lbs.
I really like the idea of a deck-over though. For hauling multiple skids of pavers, stone, etc. the loading/unloading would be so much easier with out the wheel wells in the way.
My only concern is a higher center of gravity. It is noticeable. Does the trailer "sway" more. I obviously have no clue I'm just guessing.
I also noticed the axles are more toward the rear than "bobcat" trailers. I'm guessing this is to increase tounge weight. Anyone really know why? Or am I way off base?
I think I could use up to an 8ton trailer. With a GVW weight of about 11,000lbs. empty after the up-fit, I still have 22,000lbs to max GCVWR. I figure with an 8 ton load on the trailer, plus the weight of the trailer, I'll be close. I was thinking of an 18' deck (not including beaver tail).
Any thoughts from those experienced with hauling/towing?
Really contemplating a deck-over for the F550 coming next year.
Found out yesterday the up-fitter is 1/2 way done :clapping:

Lawnworks
12-15-2006, 11:33 PM
I think deck overs might be a good idea... although I have no idea how they pull. I am about to buy a skid in the next month or so... and I think the deck over would be better for pallet materials also. I would want as long of a deck as possible 20 feet or so... at some point I guess it becomes difficult in cul-de-sacs.

Total Landscape Solutions
12-16-2006, 12:34 AM
What kind of truck are you using, will you be over 26,000lbs GCVW? If so, you'll need a CDL to be legal.

gammon landscaping
12-16-2006, 01:09 AM