PDA

View Full Version : Are we growing fast enough?

2 man crew
06-27-2001, 08:06 PM
How fast are you growing? and am I keeping pace?
Ive been doing lawn care and snow removal for 4 years. I started from scratch with a small add in the local paper and started my first season with 15 residental costomers. Now Ive got 98 Lawn costomers and 80 snow plow costomers. About 98% residential. Im using 1 chev 1 ton (for lawn and snow), 2 toro hydro walk behinds a 44"and one 52"with turf riders, 1 lesco 36", 1 bobcat 32". Ive have one full time employee. I will be advertising in the yellow pages for the first time this year. and thinking about adding another truck and crew. any feed back would be great.

kris
06-27-2001, 08:54 PM
Sounds like your doing great to me.

Alan
06-27-2001, 10:23 PM
I'm trying to figure out how you can service 80 plow accounts with one truck.

jaclawn
06-27-2001, 10:29 PM
Just remember, it is not quantity, but rather dollars in your pocket at the end of the year. Don't do more work just to make the same money.

David Gretzmier
06-28-2001, 12:32 AM
the yellow pages will bring you lots of bids to cherry pick from. start figuring out what your worst 20% customers as far as profit and raise thier price 20%, then raise everyone else 5% . you will need the room to grow when the ad hits. Good luck dave g

2 man crew
06-28-2001, 01:55 AM
Allan Ive got the 80 snow accounts condensed into a 30 mile area. the rout takes me 10 hours on a light snow and 15 on a heavy 9"+.

Sean Adams
06-28-2001, 02:26 AM