PDA

View Full Version : I don't want a Ford 6.0But might have to?

minibin
12-26-2006, 09:07 PM
I look forward to your inptu on this one. This is my first post, but I have been studying the site for the past 6 Months.

I am purchasing a hooklift this week and have been debating the cab & chassis mostly thinking of a 25,500 chassis or below CDL. But for overhead/businees reasons i have decided to go with a 19,500GVW so I can drive the vehicle home at night. I think that driving home a F550 looking pick-up style truck will go over better and keep the complaints to the city down.

My concern is the threads on this site in regards to the Ford 6.0 engine and tranny problems. Manny have posted really negative feedback?

The other options being considered are the GMC W5500HD cabover, the Ford LCF cabover, the GM C5500.

The bottom line is that the F550 allows me to be more discreet since it looks like a pick-up but am I makinking a mistake with the current 6.0 set-up?

Ps. I don't have time to wait until the 2008 Ford 6.4 is released

POPO4995
12-26-2006, 09:25 PM
There have been some problems with the 6.0....but the majority were from the early 2003's. As of now, I think you should be safe. I have a 2004 6.0; manufacture date of 06/2004 and have had no problems with the motor or tranny. Most of the problems were prior to that date, and believe me, I was hesitant at first too. But if you do decide to purchase a 6.0, you will find it to be a very powerful, stout, economical diesel engine. Also, you would be alot safer with a 6.0 than the new 6.4. The 6.4 is brand new, and will probably have a few problems where the 6.0 shouldnt have any. Good luck in your truck shopping! :waving:

DixieChopperDuramax
12-26-2006, 09:39 PM