PDA

View Full Version : Help with Ford Ranger front end.

PearceLawn
01-04-2007, 07:58 AM
I need some help with a Ford Ranger Edge with the 4.0 6 cyl.

First I will tell you,I am not a truck mechanic.I have done the obligatory alternator,plugs, battery,brake pads and rotors, etc. I have been in the lawn business for ten years and can turn a wrench fine. I have to see if I can get this solved w/out going to a mechanic and paying the $1000 I was quoted for the job. Due to a parent I am caring for having a major medical problem recently,funds are very low. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

The problem:

I recently had the lower ball joints replace and had new tires put on. I have a Sno Way plow for it and I do some residentials and two SMALL( about 5 parking spots each) commercials with it. Now I find that the upper ball joint on the drivers side may be rattling a bit. I do not have the money to replace it right now. No snow has meant no pay.

Question:

Can I jack the truck up and tighten it down somehow to make it last a little bit longer?

If so, do I just tighten the to nuts on top and how far can I go without throwing off the alignment?

I have gotten some great info from this site from a great bunch of guys, I hope you can enlighten me on this and maybe I will be able to return the favor someday.

Happy New Year!!

Birdhunter1
01-04-2007, 03:53 PM
I'm not sure on a 2001 but if it was an older one I could offer assistance, if you don't get an answer here try over at Ford Truck Enthusiasts (www.ford-trucks.com), there are several very knowledgable people over there regarding your truck.

PearceLawn
01-04-2007, 04:31 PM
I also found the Explorer/Ranger enthusiasts site. I did post a question there as well. Thanks for the suggestion!!

Potchkins
01-07-2007, 11:45 PM
www.rrorc.com
www.therangerstation.com
1. are they oem joints? if not they are greaseable.
2. jack up the front end just enuf to clear the tire 2-3 inches,