PDA

View Full Version : Liability insurance for backflow testers

Mad Estonian
01-10-2007, 11:38 PM
For all you backflow testers out there- who's insuring you (the company, i.e. Lloyd's, ING, etc., not your broker), and what are you paying? I've been working on getting insured for a couple of months now. My broker tells me that the companies are all ignorant and paranoid about backflow testing. I could get insured for $500-$750/yr. (Canadian) just for irrigation and landscaping, but add on the backflow and I'm looking at $3000 (this includes "errors and omissions," which is the important thing for testers). Unless I was a certified plumber, then it would just be $1000. Most plumbers around here can't be bothered to do backflows, but the purveyor is now mandating annually-tested DCVA's for all new irrigation systems, so there's a big market awaiting. And the insurance will be mandatory soon. Thanks. (Of course, there's probably somewhere online I could get a plumbing certificate for a hundred bucks or something, P.H.D. in Psychology while I'm at it...)

Wet_Boots
01-10-2007, 11:46 PM
That's sort of logical, being that a licensed plumber might be less likely to commit those errors and omissions.

Mad Estonian
01-10-2007, 11:56 PM
That's sort of logical, being that a licensed plumber might be less likely to commit those errors and omissions

Thanks for your support. Which insurance firm do you represent? By the way, I just discovered that other online forum, the one that rhymes with "WinklerWalk." How do you find any time to work, when you're online 24/7?

gusbuster
01-11-2007, 02:13 AM
If it's going to be or is being regulated, you see an opportunity, take it. On the insurance thing though, as there becomes more of a demand, the pricing should become more competitive. At least that's my 2 cents.

PurpHaze
01-11-2007, 09:27 AM
"WinklerWalk."

Henry Winkler made that move famous... "The Fonz Frolic" :laugh:

PurpHaze
01-11-2007, 09:28 AM