PDA

View Full Version : What's wrong with this lawn?

Triple R
01-13-2007, 05:31 PM
I just finished mowing my lawn and took some pics. I noticed this several days ago while pulling up to the house, it has black/brown on the leaf blades and from a distance there is a dark tint to it. I have a couple things I think it might be. Let me know what you think. I will add more pics in the next post.

Triple R

Triple R
01-13-2007, 05:39 PM
More pics.

Precision
01-13-2007, 05:48 PM
I don't know what is the problem with the dark coloration and reddening, bu the tips are beaten up. I know what causes that. Dull blades. This could be allowing some kind of pathogen in, due to the excess healing time of the crushed tips.

Someone else will know for sure.

nmez21
01-13-2007, 06:46 PM
I compared it to a bunch of different things and it looks to me like red and black reproductive structures of the rust pathogen. I must tell you though that I have no experience diagnosing these types of problems.

Runner
01-13-2007, 07:43 PM
It is Grey Leaf spot. Also, DEFINITELY make sure they sharpen their blades...This is an open door for this sort of thing.

Triple R
01-13-2007, 08:23 PM
Here's a couple of things that may have contributed to the lawn, it's a tall Fescue by the way. First there has been frost overnight for most of the last few weeks. Second, about a week ago I was applying Ferromec to several properties and had some left in the sprayer so I sprayed it out on my lawn and it didn't get watered until today for 5 minutes. Also I may have overdosed the lawn with Ferromec. Do you think it's one or the other or a combination. The mower blade may need a sharpening to get it razor sharp but it's not that bad. The cut you see is from at least a month ago, the cut I did today did't cut much if any grass blades.

Splicer
01-13-2007, 08:33 PM
Sharpen the blades dude...

mikes landscaping
01-13-2007, 08:44 PM
Yeah its dull blades i would think.

Runner
01-13-2007, 08:53 PM