PDA

View Full Version : Is a 24' trailer too big?

zz4guy
01-19-2007, 04:10 PM
Hi guys. I'm new to this business and will probably be focused mainly on residentials this year.

I am looking at a 24' enclosed trailer to double as a lawn mowing trailer and also to haul my race car to the track a few times a year.

Money is really not an issue as it doesnt cost much more for me to buy a 20' vs. a 12' or 16'. Plus I could sell the car hauler I have now and break even.

What I am worried about is hauling the 20' around town. Do you think it is practical if you have 10 properties to get to in a day? Or is it not worth it? Should I just get a 16' so its easy to tow around town? Thanks guys.

JDWalkbehind
01-19-2007, 04:24 PM
i really dought you need that much room. and hauling that thing would shock i n the city. i've got an 7x18 and it could fit 2 z's with plunty of space for a w/b or quik trak if i wanted to move my big truck box and gas cans. go with what you need for space. and you've already got a car hauler so what's it matter. just my opinion.

zz4guy
01-19-2007, 04:35 PM
and you've already got a car hauler so what's it matter. just my opinion.

Well because it would be an enclosed car hauler :clapping:
Also the car hauler I have now is kind of a POS. Looks nasty and doesn't have a breakaway setup yet. And it probably weighs as much as a feakin enclosed trailer because its so old lol.
Anyway I'm really trying to weight the PITA factor for hauling a big 20' rig around town vs a 16' or so. I've heard most guys say 12' is borderline so I'd be getting a 16' regardless to haul the lawn mowers.

Az Gardener
01-19-2007, 04:37 PM
I guess it really depends on the size of the streets in town, what kind of truck you pull with and if you deal with cul-de-sac's much. We pull a 8.5X16 with a longbed dodge with the crew cab and its a lot of truck