PDA

View Full Version : 501 vs 521 tracker

Remote Pigtails
02-09-2007, 09:30 AM
During my winter boredom i bought a 501 tracker on ebay. I've tried it a few times and need more practice but can anyone give me a reason not to put it back on ebay? I have a 521 and pulser and was hoping the 501 would add another element to my wire repair and valve location.

irritation
02-09-2007, 05:40 PM
I've been using the 501 for about 20 years(same one)and love it.
I tried the 521 a couple of times but it shocked the hell out of me whenever I left it on and worked on the field wiring. ;)

laylow1994
02-09-2007, 07:59 PM
yea ive done that shocked the heck out myself.... kinda learned to go back and turn it off when i was done tracking...

Remote Pigtails
02-09-2007, 08:34 PM
We found that the 521 gave us a better signal over the valve. A lot of buried valves in dallas. Besides not shocking you how is the 501 better?

irritation
02-09-2007, 08:45 PM
I'm not saying the 501 is better because it's probably not. I just find it inconvenient to have to go back and shut it off and on when you're working by yourself. I have located many buried valves with it also.

PurpHaze
02-09-2007, 10:12 PM
With all the talk about locators recently I spent three hours training my partner on the 521 this morning. Ran him through some actual scenarios at a nearby site so he got good experience using it under different conditions. First, last and repeated inbetween advice was "Turn the thing off before touching anything. Wand in one hand, can of paint in the other and you can't touch anything while the thing is on." :laugh:

Repairs
02-09-2007, 11:23 PM
You think the 521 is good, grab a hold of a 2003 pulser with some wet shoes on. :cool2:

irritation
02-09-2007, 11:51 PM
My shoes are always wet, and I've tried them all, most certainly during spring turn ons. :walking:

We need a smilie adjusting a sprinkler head.

aric43085
02-10-2007, 03:15 AM