PDA

View Full Version : Stihl and John Deere mechanic Training

MarcSmith
02-12-2007, 11:30 AM
Hey folks.

I am loosing my smell engine mechanic after 20 years....and until I can find a new replacement, I'd like to sned one of my auto mechanics to some classes.

Stihl and John Deere are theonly ones that are holding me up.

Both require me to be a "dealer" to utilize their training. Has any else had this problem? and if so did you find a work around....to the dealer offered training?

khouse
02-12-2007, 01:43 PM
If he/she is a good auto mechanic they should be able to work on small engines with no problems. I was an ASE master tech in a shop and jumped on all the small engine repairs I could. It paid the same as cars and was easier, cleaner and there wasn't as much heavy lifting. I have not had any formal "small engine training" I'm not saying it wouldn't hurt! I know a lot of engines that have or had specific problems that may be addressed in a class. But a good mechanic is a good mechanic in my book. I'm not saying that a person doesn't need extra training - we all can learn more. This is just my opinion.

MarcSmith
02-12-2007, 03:13 PM
The guys are more desiel oriented. when I had to rely on them when the small engine guy was out for 2 weeks on vacation. I was doing more repairs myself than they were.... Which I don't mind doing...but...The union start btching when a manager starts doing the job of a union employee....

khouse
02-12-2007, 04:55 PM
I would question their abilities if they can't repair a small engine. We are talking engines here. Now I could see if there were hydro issues. Maybe you should just advertise for a small engine mechanic.

MarcSmith
02-12-2007, 05:10 PM
I am going to advertise for a small engine Mech....no doubt about it....I was just looking for some of the training thats only offred for dealers...but woul dbe beneficial to my guys given that we have a slew of their products in our posession.