PDA

View Full Version : Is this about right???

ParkerLawn
03-10-2007, 12:52 PM
Just now getting into lighting and have read several books and many hours on forums trying to learn what I can and am now giving it trial and error in the field. I just finished a system and have a question on my readings at fixtures. I have 3 different trans setup on the property but will just give you one scenario to see if I am correct on this. I have 4 runs on the one 600 wat trans and split them into approx. 100 watts per run on 12/2 with them installed in a loop runs back to trans. I have them set to 12v at the box and my nearest fixture to trans reads 11 and the furthest reads 10. Is the about right what I should expect in a voltage drop ont his run which is approx. 50-60 feet. House looks great at night and custoemr very happy but I am still learning and trying to understand.

bumper
03-10-2007, 08:58 PM
Terminology in different parts of country being what it is, not sure what you mean by "loop" is it a daisy chain? all lights strung on one run on the same 12/2 spliced in? You should be hitting near 11 volts at each fixture on each run. The variance you present 11 close to the transformer 10 farthest away will effect bulb life. Once one bulb goes the voltage will change on the other bulbs, the burnout rate will hasten after one bulb goes south. Some manufacturers rec. 11 for the longest life of the bulb and relative even burn rate, others will say give a .5 variance using 11 as the desired voltage. I think your 10 needs to bumped up but your 11 should stay where it is.

ParkerLawn
03-10-2007, 10:20 PM
So how do you bump the voltage to the furthest lamp and not affect the nearest lamp? I figure you will always have voltage drop on any run at your longest fixture? Am I wrong here?

Pro-Scapes
03-10-2007, 11:59 PM