PDA

View Full Version : Help with bidding

j9sheldon
03-13-2007, 12:53 PM
Hi all,

I am new to the business and have only done 2 jobs. I am looking for advice on bidding. I am still struggling with how to bid a job correctly. I want to make money, but I also want value for my customer. Do you do it per zone or use a multiplier of the cost of material. Just looking for some different ideas on bidding ( I looked for some books, but was not really successful finding for irrigation) . Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

SprinklerGuy
03-13-2007, 01:06 PM
Easiest way to bid.....this is based on YEARS of experience...but first you need to know some important stuff...you cannot bid successfully without this knowledge. Ready?

How much do you need to make personally each day to live the way you want to live....i.e. pay your bills, pay yourself into a savings account, and eat drink party whatever it is you want to do.

How much does your company need you to make each day to pay it's bills and make a profit?

Here is the hard part....add those two things up...they better be accurate.....that is your daily labor rate. That is how much labor you better bill each day....so if it is a 2 day job, multiply that rate x 2.

Now the harder part....figure out exactly what parts you will need for the job.....figure out how much they cost at your supplier....add that up.

Now add up other expenses related to that job....equip rental etc.

Total it up..that is how much the job should cost.

Too low compared to others in your area? Congratulations!!!! You will dominate your market..and you don't have to worry about being called a lowballer...because you are making enough each day to cover your bills and your company bills....and you're living a decent life......F*ck em if they can't compete.

Too high compared to others in your market?

Better reevaluate your costs and your needs.

Good luck.

That will be $5000.00 please.

landscape guy
03-13-2007, 01:27 PM