PDA

View Full Version : what's the use? sand

S&J Striping&Sealcoating
03-14-2007, 11:31 PM
I have been sealing for 4 years now; I started as a striper 12 years ago.

I have done my own research with various applications and surface conditions with and without sand. My findings? the sealed surface with sand wears quicker than the side without sand. All applications and surface conditions were sealed using 2 coats of sealer

I understand the need for skid resistance and extra traction in rainy conditions. I have also heard the horror stories of slips and falls leading to lawsuits. I haven't had a slip and fall case, although I know fellow contractors that have and I believe that all happen to occur in rainy weather.

My questions goes out to all the "old hats". Have you done your own research? what are your findings?

Through reading this forum I am seeing seemingly better sealers...even the bare RP355e/ATSM D5727 are better. At least in comparing the spec sheets that I am seeing. If I had the room for a HUGE storage tank I wouldn't worry, but having to go to the plant to get my sealer, I am limited to what is available to me. I have used both GEMSeal and Sealmaster(they are what is available in bulk in my area) I have the option of federal and polytar from Gemseal and coal tar concentrate from Sealmaster. I am all about providing quality services and products to my customers so, what does it say when every other manufacturer in the country offers more than 2 options for sealer and no asphalt sealer. In my experience asphalt sealer is better than coal tar and more environmentally friendly

Just another sealcoater trying to get more knowledge...the more you know about the industry and products...the better service you can provide ya know?

toddsasphalt
04-15-2007, 10:58 PM