PDA

View Full Version : Pump Start..how would you do it?

SprinklerGuy
03-19-2007, 08:44 AM
Ok..my first pump system....

They have a well....that is dedicated to irrigation only.

It is on a switch....the pump that is. They have a pressure tank, but a small one...less than 20 gallons. I don't want the pump cycling on and off.....

How and where do I wire the pump start...I have NEVER used that feature of a timer before...excuse my ignorance, but I'm from the big City where they have muni water... ;)

thanks

PS
If you start ripping me...I will delete this thread ;)

DanaMac
03-19-2007, 09:04 AM
What a moron!!:laugh: :laugh:

DanaMac
03-19-2007, 09:06 AM
I only have a handful of well systems and am not your best source of info for that. But when do you want help pulling the pipe for that install? Or are you trenching instead?

PurpHaze
03-19-2007, 09:23 AM
Sorry Tony... can't be of any help here either. Although half our sites are on pumps they're the large commercial type with very large pressure tanks. They don't start via a relay rather pressure/water differential. And since electricians and plumbers are the ones that service/repair our pumps I have little practical experience in that area.

Ground Master
03-19-2007, 10:10 AM
The pump start relay can be wired to the master valve if there is no pump start on the controller.

BSME
03-19-2007, 10:10 AM
what timer are you using? the only setup i've used is the hunter relay and pro-c

Wet_Boots
03-19-2007, 10:14 AM
Your solution is simple. Pretend you are still on city water. The only difference is that you should probably install a strainer in the sprinkler supply line. What matters most is that you match system flow to well flow. PGPs work best for this.

SprinklerGuy
03-19-2007, 10:48 AM
So the switch for the pump will stay in the ON position

Check valve necessary?