PDA

View Full Version : ZTR Tire-Marks

Catcher
07-23-2001, 08:48 AM
Hello again to everyone.
I have a question regarding tire-marks.
This is my first year with a ZTR, GH 618 w. low-pressure Ag tires. Love the machine, gotta improve my technique. It took me a few mowings to get used to the steering, that is - to steer without ripping grass out of the ground. At first I was turning on the spot, causing the roots to be ripped out of the ground, then I made too big of a turn, causing lost time, after a few weeks I thought I found what works best - tight turns, just enough to allow both tires to spin and leave the grass unharmed while making efficient time.
I didn't see any damage all year. Now that we've had blistering heat with a total lack of rain for an extended time (no, I'm not watering 3 acres), the lawn is showing many 'dead' areas. The grass has gone dead in some areas; upon further inspection I realized that it was only affecting the 'turn-around' areas, i.e. along the road, around trees, mailbox, etc.
What can I do to avoid this in the future?
Once again, the grass is not visualy damaged - ripped or stressed turf, it just seems to die faster where the mower turns or makes more passes.
Thanks for any ideas.

jeffyr
07-23-2001, 03:00 PM
I would think that there could be 2 things contributing to the dead patches----if they are from your tires and not from bugs or disease.

1.The areas that you are turning week after week are becoming compacted and the water is not penetrating the soil, which can be fixed by aerating these areas. When I aerate in the fall I go ver the spots that I will turn or drive over repeatedly an extra couple of passes to aid the extra soil compaction.

or

2. Where you are turning you may not be tearing the turf on the surface, but tearing the roots from this patch underground which is preventing the grass plants from reaching deep for water.