PDA

View Full Version : lawn pricing

tractrpowr45
03-24-2007, 08:12 PM
Hi I have a question on pricing a lawn. I have a potential customer that called today, I went to look at the lawn; it's about 1/2 acre in size, has a creek running at an angle through the back yard, and has alot of trees and landscape beds to trim around (in front yard and back), plus the bank of the creek to trim. This is my first year mowing(my second year landscaping) and I need some help with pricing. I would like to charge $55 to $60 per cut - I'm thinking it will take me around 40-45 mins to cut. Does the amount of time and price sound right? Since this is my first year, I will probably be buying a
48" walkbehind to start up with(trying to get some accounts before I buy it) and I will have a helper to do the trimming. I don't want to lowball or work my butt off all summer for free but I don't want to be overpriced either. Any help would be appreciated. By the way, I live in Western NY:walking:

Ric3077
03-24-2007, 08:17 PM
I would think you should get at least $60, however depending on your cost to run your business it will vary...but without seeing it my company would guess around $60

bigtex
03-24-2007, 08:33 PM
To Much $. I Don't Think Anybody Is Going To Pay $60.00 For A 40 Min Cut, Not From A New Guy,nothing Personnel Bro, But I'm In Ma. So The Market ($) Must Be Relative. One Figure Seems Off, Either The 1/2 Acre Or The 40mins Of Complete Work Time. Go Like This, Charge By The Min. 40 Mins Of Work,-$40. - 30mins To Cut A House $30.00 And So On And So On. For A One Man Band Like Your Self This Is A Good System. -- Good Luck

Precision Lawns
03-24-2007, 08:56 PM
First of all, there's no reason your customers should know that this is your first year mowing. Talk like you know what you're doing, and they will assume that you do.