PDA

View Full Version : Is a 34" or 36" ZTR a bad idea?

conger
03-27-2007, 01:27 PM
I'm just starting out, and my primary mower is a 36" Scag walk behind. I find it hard to get a consitent cut with it. I don't want to lose customers because of a bad mower. I have seen the 34" Toro, and the 36" Scag Tiger Cub ZTR mowers, and I like both. Are they too small for future growth? Will they fit through most residential gates? Any advice is appreciated.

J&R Landscaping
03-27-2007, 01:32 PM
How old is the Scag mower? It sounds like you might need to get the deck leveled or check and make sure the tire pressure is even on both sides.

Some people on Ls, like the smaller ZTR mowers. Yes, they are a decent idea but I myself can't see spending thast much money on a ztr with that small of a deck. You might consider looking into a new machine or take yours in and get it looked at. It might be a simple problem that is easy to fix. If not, you can get a new 32 or 36" gear drive wb mower for $2300-$2700 in most areas.

blakeg314
03-27-2007, 01:33 PM
its up to you, they may fit in the back yards, but what about your bigger lawns? its gonna take you awhile but will still cut the time in half from your walkbehind, look at a 44" if you wanted to stay small, my next mower- 61"

ProStreetCamaro
03-27-2007, 01:39 PM
We love our Gravely 34Z. Our 36" Scag WB cuts like crap and we only use it on hills. Then again we are 2 guys so I take the Tank M48 and do the larger areas and my father uses the 34Z on the smaller areas. The 34Z will do circles around a 36" WB on large areas and will keep right with it on small tight lawns. Just remember you will not be able to do hills with the 34Z unless your willing to drive up and back down, drive up and back down over and over untill the hill is done.

conger
03-27-2007, 01:55 PM