PDA

View Full Version : Overgreased??


chipk1
03-28-2007, 10:30 PM
Think I overgreased my throttle cable. It keeps loosing RPMS every 30 seconds or so and I have to keep bumping them up again?? Any way to get the grease back out of a cable??

khouse
03-28-2007, 10:43 PM
I don't know what model or make your talking about. But for most cables the tension can be adjusted at the pivot point of the lever. Tighten up the bolt and or nut.

olyman
03-29-2007, 01:49 PM
as khouse said--throttle on the snapper was sticking--so pulled it out--and filled with 90w--then put back together--smmooooooooth--and had to tighten the tension---

steve45
03-29-2007, 11:46 PM
If there is no friction adjustment, you can twist the cable core half a turn, which will give more drag.

chipk1
03-31-2007, 02:17 AM
Old gravely 36" walk behind. I mean old, early 90's. Has kaw fb460v engine. Where would friction adjustment be? All I see is a spring on the engine end.

khouse
03-31-2007, 09:22 PM
Well your looking at the wrong end. Look at the pivot point of the throttle lever. Is the throttle a lever or push/pull knob?

chipk1
04-01-2007, 01:56 PM
Well your looking at the wrong end. Look at the pivot point of the throttle lever. Is the throttle a lever or push/pull knob?

It is a lever.

khouse
04-01-2007, 11:40 PM
Look at th pivot point of the lever. Tighten that bolt or nut.