PDA

View Full Version : What makes more sense new or used?

mrusk
03-29-2007, 04:34 PM
What do you guys think makes more financial sense over time, new or used trucks?

My dad always bought new vehicles. So when i went into business i bought a new 05 3/4 ton dodge cummins. My repairs/maintanence for all of last year was around 650 dollars. Basically thats just oil changes, differencial fluid changes, wipers, and thats about it.

I know what people who spend upwards for 10k on one vehicle for maintenance some years.

This year i need to add another truck. I do not know which way to go. It seems like most vehicles 2-3 years old are selling for almost the same price as new.

I know any mason dump in the 15k price range will be beat to hell.

Thinking long term what do you guys think really works out best? I am just alittle scared buying used since i have no experience with it and am not a great mechanic. Also being a 2 truck company, i can not afford the down time.

Maybe i should just buy two used trucks.

Gravel Rat
03-29-2007, 07:45 PM
If the 05 Dodge is your personal truck don't get rid of it. I spent many years dealing with used trucks and I'am done with fooling around with junk. The 2003 F-450 I bought only had 58,000kms (36,000 miles) on it and so far its the best truck I ever owned.

Trying to find a mason dump is going to be nearly impossible your going to have to build your own. Try find a cab and chassis or a truck that had a 12' Van on it take the body off and put a dump box on it.

Search for something that is about 4 years old it still should be in good shape anything older than that will be a money pit.

topsites
03-29-2007, 07:51 PM