PDA

View Full Version : Leasing a truck

Esby
07-26-2001, 02:57 AM
To do or not to do??? I am looking at leasing a new Chevy 1500. Do you have any experience with the whole lease idea, because I am new to it. I have only boughten my vehicles prior to this.

Bob_McNaughton
07-27-2001, 03:29 PM
I've leased around 4 vehicles in my life so far, and have bought closer to 10. Depends on your circumstances which is better for you.

Nearly 80% of all new vechiles sold are leased today.. 15 years ago, only 10-15% were leased..

Leasing is mileage restricted, and is usually better for the city driver, or for your spare vehicle. Lease payments are much lower than purchasing, but you have no equity in the vehicle at least end. So basically, you pay alot over 2-3 years, and have nothing to show for it at the end of the 3 years! Keep in mind, the vechile condition at lease-end is critical. If you wear it out, they WILL nickle/dime you to death with added expenses.

Buying is still the best bet. Your payments will be higher, but you have equity in the vehicle when you decide to sell it. (hopefully). So buy a vehicle for 5-6 years, and when you are done paying it off in 5 years, you have a truck worth 3-4k! (trucks hold value like crazy, even junk trucks sell for 2k).

The reason leasing is so popular is because people that want a 30-40k vehicle cannot afford to buy them. So they end up leasing, and saving 100-200$ a month in payments. It is not a smart thing to do, but the only option for people that want a fancy new car and can't afford it.

Leasing is a good write off for the business owner (100%), but keep in mind, it may end up costing you more if you go over the miles, or use it for commercial. Talk to your accountant. Sometimes it is better for you to personally buy the truck, then lease it to your company taking the full write-off on the company, and making a few bucks on the personal side.

Hope this helps.

cat320
07-29-2001, 05:05 PM