PDA

View Full Version : new customer requests to use a 21" this year

Chop Stuff Up
04-01-2007, 04:23 PM
I have 5 new customers so far. 3 of them requested for me to use a 21", 2 of them who made the request were dropping their existing lawn service because they damaged their property with a large mower. They are small lawns and I priced accordingly, and they were fine with that. I was wondering if you guys are getting many of these requests and if you follow through.

mrgreen3
04-01-2007, 04:37 PM
Yes,as they say,the customer is always right..Usually and within reason

topsites
04-01-2007, 04:42 PM
I might suggest giving them the option to call 3 references of yours (so they may verify that you are not the same inexperienced Lco they got) but as for me I unfortunately don't own nothing smaller than 48's and that's what I usually say, now I've been using these machines for 4-5 years and rarely do I leave a track, it happens but it really is rare.

Just be careful, best I can say, but I wouldn't myself touch no 21" because I can't service any lot of mine cost effectively with those things. As for getting stuck, that sux but you need some rope or chain (a good 50 - 100 feet of it) and a come along or hook it to your truck to pull it out, don't ever try to pull it out under its own power because you'll rut the heck out of their turf.

Mind yourself, once I get stuck one time in a section I usually remember it well, and it's usually the last time it messes me up, there's little I hate worse than having my 300 pound beast stuck dead in the muck (the Z is worse, way worse lol). Way I do it is if I foresee it coming, I just linetrim that one little section real careful, practice makes perfect, I can usually linetrim a smaller area so good you really can not tell the difference but it does take time (what better way, you have to start practicing sometime, right?)

That's how I do it.

Frosty03
04-01-2007, 04:43 PM