PDA

View Full Version : Mower stalls when activating Blades


MudFingers
04-03-2007, 07:43 PM
Hello all,

I just purchased a used Scag mower that wasn't working, at least until about noon today. It's running great with one exception now. When I engage the blades it dies as soon as I do. I'm hoping someone may have an idea why. The blades are activated electronically, and I've tried it with the throttle on low, high, and inbetween.

Scag 52" Hydro
SWM-52/E
Serial 4110240

15 Horse kawasaki Engine
Code FH500V-BS09
E/NO FH00VA10143


OH, and just because I think it's cool, I replaced the keystart ignition with this...

http://img476.imageshack.us/img476/8048/an466sz6.jpg

steve45
04-03-2007, 08:26 PM
Have you checked the spindles to see if they turn freely? Also, the idler pulleys? You should be able to engage the blades at fairly low RPM, i.e. just above idle.

ChadsLawn
04-03-2007, 08:30 PM
What about saftey switches...

MudFingers
04-03-2007, 08:58 PM
Spindles, pulleys, blades all work like they should. Everything is greased and well maintained. The only thing that is a little funky is the carb. It works good but it did need a little cleaning to make it work, and still could use a little tlc, but not much.

I donít think itís a safety switch because I had them working earlier in the day the first time I had it started. But I did tape down the safety handles and also switched out the key ignition which is right next to the safety switch. Maybe something got jogged or something. Iíll check that tomorrow. In the meantime I am still accepting any and all advice.

Thanks for the replies so far.

MowerMedic77
04-03-2007, 09:06 PM
OH, and just because I think it's cool, I replaced the keystart ignition with this...

http://img476.imageshack.us/img476/8048/an466sz6.jpg

IMHO I would rather have uncool(old key switch)and working over cool(not working) toggel.

Restrorob
04-03-2007, 09:19 PM
IMHO I would rather have uncool(old key switch)and working over cool(not working) toggel.


Gotta agree with MM, If it was working before and not now back-track and find where you messed up installing the toggle.

MudFingers
04-03-2007, 09:35 PM
The toggle switch has nothing at all to do with my problem. The toggle switch does the exact same thing as a key ignition. The only thing that could have happened is that when I was putting the switch in I may have inadvertently knocked something loose on the safety mechanism because they are so close to each other.

The toggle switch actually works great, and when I cut lawns I can pretend I can shoot missiles at people. And Iíd rather pretend I can shoot missiles at people than to have a machine that works.

; )

haybaler
04-03-2007, 09:48 PM
The toggle switch actually works great, and when I cut lawns I can pretend I can shoot missiles at people. And Iíd rather pretend I can shoot missiles at people than to have a machine that works.

; )[/QUOTE]

your an idiot. put the switch back the way it was. check the safety switch on the e-brake, it has to be off for blades to engage

MudFingers
04-03-2007, 10:18 PM
Actually, if you want to be grammatically correct, it is "you're and idiot" not "your". But I guess sometimes we can all be idiots. Excluding you of course.

Let me set something straight, this machine did not work yesterday when I bought it. As far as I knew I was buying a machine that did not, and might not, ever work. Today it runs, and as long as it has been in my possession it has never been started without the toggle switch I put on it. The blades engaged and worked momentarily earlier on but not very well. And when they did briefly work, the toggle switch was on it. I have never, ever, started this machine with the old key ignition that was on it. I can assure you all that the toggle switch works as it should. Can we please forget about the switch and focus on ideas and solutions rather insults and humble opinions. Thank you.

Restrorob
04-03-2007, 10:33 PM
OOOK, Here's a post I made earlier this evening.


Sounds like possibly a operator presence switch acting up. Remove the black kill lead wire between the engine and unit wire harness then try again.
If it runs fine test all safety switches with a multimeter.

The same will apply to your unit....

haybaler
04-03-2007, 10:37 PM
Ok, well in your first post you said it died right away every time, that's all you said. Does it ever die when you just try to drive it? It still sound electrical to me assuming you've checked the obvious like the spindles turn freely. buy a new ignition switch, then check safety switches and relays and wires(maybe a mouse had some fun if it was sitting for awhile).

MudFingers
04-04-2007, 09:30 AM
Yesterday was a very long and full day for me. I had not remembered that they were working a little when it was first started. I apologize for not including that.

I will check all the saftey's and if I still can't get it going I'll go have a chat with a repair guy.

Thanks everyone for your replies.

TLS
04-04-2007, 09:59 AM
You say it "dies" as soon as you engage the blades....

Is it stalling out due to the physical load shock of the blade engagement?

Or is the ignition being cut (due to a safety switch)?

If it's the first option....it's quite normal. If you have a seperate choke lever, try engaging the choke until the engine just starts to stumble, then hit the PTO blade switch. When blades are spinning, return choke to normal.

wahlturfcare
04-04-2007, 10:00 AM
on my 52 scag walkbehind when i got it sometimes the blades would shutt off and turn back on. i found it had some loose/corroded wires in the harness on the side of the handle bars. you might check that