PDA

View Full Version : making a corn maze


Dirt Digger2
04-03-2007, 11:05 PM
no idea where to put this so here goes...me and a buddy got a contract to plow, plant, and cut a corn maze this year at a resturant where his dad knows the owner. heres my question to anyone who has similiar experience. you guys using round-up ready corn or cutting it with push mowers when the corn gets about 6 inches?

theres another corn maze around here where they use roundup to cut the paths but the weeds start to get pretty bad...we're thinking double plant it using roundup ready corn and cut it with mowers...also how are you laying them out without a boom truck?...the field size is approx 2.5 acres.

Dirt Digger2
04-03-2007, 11:07 PM
heres a picture of the main tractor to get a few more people to look at this thread and offer any opinions

DUSTYCEDAR
04-03-2007, 11:16 PM
lay it out on graph paper and then string a few lines across the field for reference and your off if u cut it in small sections its easier

Dirt Digger2
04-03-2007, 11:21 PM
lay it out on graph paper and then string a few lines across the field for reference and your off if u cut it in small sections its easier

where in S.E PA are you?

Jacdanboy
05-30-2007, 08:55 AM
You need to talk to the guys up at cherry crest farms, or the maze in unionville.

I have never done one, but my understanding is they use roundup ready corn, and hand remove the plants when they are 6" to 12" tall (about now) then spray to maintain.

Where is the resturant?